Cold Brewed Coffee

11 Aug


Pin It
I’m sitting outside in a comfy lawn chair, watching my two kiddos play in the yard.

I love summer! I’ve got my handy dandy laptop, Kindle, and of course, my iced coffee by my side! It’s just gorgeous today. 75 degrees, sunny, just a few fluffy clouds in the sky.

I’m currently watching Emma attempt to baptize her doll in her water table (or is she trying to drown it?)

As promised, here’s a quick tutorial on how to cold brew coffee! I originally got the instructions from the Pioneer Woman.
In her original instructions, she says to use 16 oz. of coffee to make 2 gallons of coffee, but I don’t have anything large enough to hold that much coffee, so I usually cut it in half.
The ratio that she uses is 2 oz. of coffee for every quart of water.

Take your coffee grounds and place them in a large container. I used 8 oz of coffee here. (Store any leftover coffee grounds in a sealed container in your freezer.)
Add a gallon of water to the coffee grounds (16 cups).Give it a stir to make sure the coffee grounds are saturated.

Let it sit 8 or more hours at room temperature. I like to give it a couple stirs during this time, just for the heck of it.
The coffee grounds should settle at the bottom of your container (mine did, anyway).
Place a fine mesh sieve (or any ‘ol strainer you have sitting around) on top of a large bowl. Line it with a paper towel, cheese cloth, or coffee filter. Strain the coffee through the filters.
I replaced the paper towels and ran mine through again (into a clean canister) to make sure I had all the grounds filtered out.
Chill in the fridge in a sealed container, and store up to 3 weeks.
I like to keep a container of both caffeinated and decaf coffee in my fridge at all times. I love the convenience of the cold brewed coffee. It takes a little bit of time to make up a batch, and it can get a little messy, but it’s so convenient to have it on hand!

Now whenever I want iced coffee, I can just get it right from my fridge, instead of brewing, and waiting for it to chill. It also has a nicer taste than hot brewed coffee. Sometimes when you hot brew coffee, it can get a kind of burnt, bitter taste. That never happens with this method! I’m seriously addicted to iced coffee now. I’ve been going through so much of it! My favorite way to drink it is poured over ice, with a packet of zero calorie sweetener, and a shot of flavored creamer. If I’m really feeling adventurous, I’ll top it with whipped cream and a drizzle of either chocolate syrup or caramel. YUM!

This picture says a 1000 words. My favorite iced coffee cup, and my kiddos playing in the background. Describes my day perfectly.

7 Responses to “Cold Brewed Coffee”

  1. feistygirl August 12, 2011 at 5:17 am #

    how does the paper mesh sieve work? I have a coffee machine a typical American styled, but i hardly use it. I prefer my Indian filter coffee machine http://feistypad.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/coffee-break/

  2. Lovely Raine August 12, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Thank you so much! I’ve been looking for a cold brewed coffee recipe for the longest. No more stopping at Starbucks to get one on the way to work!! Thanks again

    • chris August 13, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

      cold brew is my favorite! it tastes so “clean?” compared to auto drip. it’s the cold equivalent to a french press in taste.
      i’m happy to say it has even become more available in most of our espresso bars. and we have a loooot of them!
      thanks for sharing your perfect day, sweet kiddos!

  3. Kathy August 20, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    I have never thought of this. I just might try it. I haven’t been drinking coffee due to the bitterness.

  4. Aspiring Kennedy March 24, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    This is the perfect drink for lazy spring afternoons. The hard part about making coffee is waiting for it to brew, so brewing ahead of time and storing it is a wonderful idea!

  5. Piper July 27, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Hi! This is a great recipe and I have to say, I also love the convenience of having it right in my kitchen. My only problem is, I keep the coffee in a large covered container with a spout on my counter (for easy dispensing!), and after about 2-3 days it gets this light “mold” ont he top. I am not sure if it is mold or just something that happens to a liquid that is sitting. My fridge is too small to keep the container in, so any thoughts?

  6. Lynzee Head September 14, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    Trying this and your skinny latte recipe! I hope it turns out great because I really need a cheaper alternative to my starbucks/coffee stand addiction

Comment

