A proper introduction

26 Jul

I feel like I never really introduced myself on here. I just kind of jumped in and started posting! My name is Katy, and I’m 23 years old. My first blog was the Crafty Mama. After the birth of my second child, I started to have less time for crafting, and was posting all about cooking and baking. Before I realized it, it was ALL I was posting about. It’s so much easier to work food into my schedule than crafting. Not to mention working it into the budget! So I decided to start up this blog to feed my baking addiction. I still plan to post on Crafty Mama, but I think this is going to be my main blog from now on.

As you can probably tell from my photos, I am NOT a photographer. I do have a Canon Rebel, and I’m working on figuring it out. Photographing my food creations is just one way to do it. I’m really hoping to expand my photography knowledge with this blog. Photography definitely is not high on my list of hobbies, but it’s working it’s way up there.

I have two kids. Emma just turned 2, and Charlie is now 6 months. My amazing husband, Ben, works hard so I can stay at home with my kiddos, and pursue my hobbies. I am so grateful for this, it seems as though time is flying ridiculously fast! I have no idea how I would juggle everything if I worked on top of it all. I see myself as not just a mom, but a cook, maid, laundromat, 24 hour milk bar, photographer, secretary, accountant, and so much more. I live for my kids and my husband, and I couldn’t dream of having a better life. I live on coffee (so expect to see a lot of it n here!), and I have no idea how I manage to function on the amount of sleep I get (excuse my sleep deprived grammar and spelling). And while I live for my kids, I also live for the night when I have a few kid-free hours (with frequent interruptions from Charlie, enter 24-hour milk bar) to blog and surf food and craft sites. I hope there’s not too many mishaps in my recipes, sometimes I have a hard time forming 2 thoughts at midnight when I’m typing up my blog posts.

I’m still new to this whole cooking and baking thing. I went to school for Baking and Pastry, and learned quite a bit there. But as for cooking, I’m still warming up to it. For the first year or so of my married life, I mostly made hamburger helper (and other simple things). I was raised in a home where everything was home made. Every. Thing. So getting out of the house and getting married, I loved the ease of and tastiness of boxed foods (call me crazy!) It took a good year before I started to realize that this was NOT the way to do things! I’ve been slowly adding new recipes to my collection, learning as I go (with numerous mishaps and disasters!) I feel like it’s my goal to make everything at least once. Hopefully this will keep me from ever getting in a rut! I’m probably not going to have a ton of unique sophisticated recipes on here, but I do enjoy adding a twist on original recipes.

Please excuse the lack of pictures of me. I’m still in that post-baby funk, and prefer to stay away from the camera. I do love posting pictures of my little ones though, so you’ll be sure to see lots of them!

Comment

