Frozen Caramel Espresso Shots

14 Jul


Pin It
I saw the concept of making frozen espresso shots on Pinterest a couple of weeks ago. If you followed my other blog, you might remember that I was on a dairy-free diet because I was nursing my son, and he had a dairy allergy. I was so sad that I couldn’t have dairy when I saw this, it looked amazing!. I was thinking it would be months before I could put it back into my diet. But a couple weeks ago, I tested it with Charlie, and he’s been tolerating it! So I’ve been going a little coffee-crazy in the past week. It’s been about 4 months since I’ve had coffee. At first I tried it with soy milk, coconut milk, almond milk. But it was no good. It always had a funky taste, and it just wasn’t right. Now coming back to it, it tastes better than I ever remember! These frozen espresso shots are the best of all that is coffee. They’re rich, creamy, and packed with flavor. I may give up all other coffee drinks, and just have a handful of these every morning!


I wasn’t a huge fan of the original recipe I saw posted, so I made up my own. Here ya go!

Recipe:
4 oz. espresso (or very strong coffee)
1 oz. Caramel flavored creamer (I used International Delight Caramel Macchiato creamer)
1-2 tbsp caramel (I used ice cream topping)

Brew your espresso.
Mix in your caramel, and stir until dissolved.
Add in the creamer.
Pour into ice cube trays (or a silicone mold, it needs to be somewhat flexible).
Put your filled molds into the freezer, checking on them after about an hour – hour and a half. Once the espresso shots are completely iced over, stick tooth picks in them. Another way to get the tooth picks to stay in: Cover your ice cube tray with saran wrap and pull it tight. Making sure it’s snuggly in place, stick the tooth picks through the saran wrap and into the espresso shots. The saran wrap will hold them in place while they freeze.
Wait until they’re frozen through, at least 5 hours, preferably over night.


Note: Before inserting my toothpicks, I drizzled caramel over the espresso shots, with hopes of swirling it through. Instead, it sunk to the bottom (because they weren’t nearly as frozen as I thought). It ended up creating a nice gooey caramel coating on the bottom of each espresso shot. A much better outcome than I expected! If you want to do this, just squirt a drop of caramel into each mold before pouring in the espresso.


Makes 8-10 espresso shots (depending on size of the mold).
To unmold, gently twist your ice cube tray, and they should pop right out.
Store in an airtight bag in your freezer, or consume them before freezer burn can affect them. In my case, they’ll all be gone before they can get freezer burn!

8 Responses to “Frozen Caramel Espresso Shots”

  1. Tracy July 14, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Mmmmmm…those sound yummy. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’m going to have to give it a try.

  2. Lazy Budget Chef July 15, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    I am so making this in my Popsicle mold!

  3. Tiffany July 15, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Yum! I love everything about coffee and this looks so refreshing!

  4. Heidi @ Food Doodles July 16, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Those look awesome! Love the idea. I better they’re so yummy for dessert on a hot evening :D

  5. Espresso911 July 25, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    You should come by the shop sometime and we can experiment with different drinks because I bet the problem you have with soy et al tasting funky is what coffee you are using or how you are brewing it.

  6. Westgrl August 4, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    I bet these would be good to use in iced coffee in place of plain ice!

  7. Susan August 4, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Thank you! These look utterly fantastic…another refreshing l’il treat for summer!

  8. Debbie April 17, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    I think I will make these and use them as ice in my iced coffee

Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

