Refrigerator Pickles

29 Jul

Pin It

This is one of those recipes that I kept seeing over. and over. and over again. Until finally I went out and bought the ingredients to make it! If any of you are on Pinterest (you can find me here), you’ve probably seen it, too. Refrigerator Dill Pickles.

I love fresh dill. And I love cucumbers. These ones looked amazing. I’ve never had pickles that weren’t canned; I’ve only even known the slight soggyness of the pickles that come in jars. But these? They’re fresh. Crunchy. Crisp. A little sweet. And they’re soaked in an amazing vinegar dill brine. And guess what? They’re EASY to make. No canning. No complicated recipes. Just a few simples ingredients, and throw it in a jar. I adapted the original recipe to make it simpler (because I’m all about short cuts!) I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Recipe:

3 cups distilled white vinegar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tbsp kosher salt
1 tbsp of pickling spice (or 1 tsp each of mustard, coriander, and dill seeds)
2 cups hot water
2 pounds pickling cucumbers, sliced 1/4-inch thick
1 bunch of chopped fresh dill
3 cloves garlic, roughly chopped

Combine your vinegar, sugar, salt, and pickling spice in a large bowl. Pour the hot water over the vinegar mixture, and mix until the sugar is dissolved. Cool to room temperature.
Chop your cucumbers into ¼ inch slices, and divide them into jars (mine fit perfectly into 3 quart size jars). Chop the dill and the garlic, and divide it evenly between your jars.
Pour the cooled brine over the cucumbers. If the brine doesn’t quite cover the cucumbers, add more water/vinegar mixture (I just mixed 1 part water to 1 part vinegar).
Place the jars in the fridge overnight.
They’re ready to eat after 24 hours, and will keep in the fridge for 2 weeks.

16 Responses to “Refrigerator Pickles”

  1. The Teenage Taste July 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    This looks delicious! I have a plethora of cucumbers that need to be used up and this sound like the perfect solution. I’ve had “Make Pickles From Scratch” on my to-do list for a while and I think it’s about time I crossed it off. Usually I just buy a jar of pickles, eat the pickles, and cut up my cucumbers and let them sit in the leftover pickle juice for a few days. ;-)

  2. crazyjamie August 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    I am going to make these with some pickling cucumbers my friend gave me today from his garden! These look wonderful! Thank you for posting!

  3. tagbert October 30, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    My grandmother always called these “summer pickles”.

  4. Sebastián October 30, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Will this same method (ingredients and amount of time) work with larger size pickles?

    • Mary October 30, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

      Thanks so much for the link to my blog. It is really appreciated. I hope youhave a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary.

  5. Jason October 31, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Would this work for whole hot peppers as well? Maybe less sugar and less fresh dill? I’m about to have about two dozen hot peppers at once and need to do something to them.

  6. buy pinterest followers July 10, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    Hello to all, it’s really a good for me to pay a visit this web page, it includes helpful Information.

  7. buy pinterest followers July 11, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    I every time emailed this web site post page to all my contacts, for the reason that if like to
    read it then my friends will too.

  8. buy pinterest followers July 11, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the great works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Make Pickles In Your Refrigerator | Lifehacker Australia - October 30, 2011

    [...] Refrigerator Pickles [Never Trust a Skinny Baker] Tagged:diyfood [...]

  2. Make Pickles in Your Refrigerator [DIY] | Sponsor szuka - October 31, 2011

    [...] Refrigerator Pickles | Never Trust a Skinny Baker [...]

  3. PermaCulture in Aljazeera! « Unabashed Thoughtcrime - November 7, 2011

    [...] http://thenotsoskinnybaker.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/refrigerator-pickles/ [...]

  4. Refrigerator Pickles | Dan Likes This! - November 13, 2011

    [...] Never Trust A Skinny Baker: (love that name! [...]

  5. Here's a cool recipe for refrigerator pickles at Aaron's Ramblings - November 17, 2011

    [...] Refrigerator Pickles Pin It This is one of those recipes that I kept seeing over. and over. and over again. Until finally I went out and bought the ingredients to make it! If any of you are on Pinterest (you can find …… [...]

  6. Canning 101: Pickled Green Beans « spontaneous tomato - May 21, 2012

    [...] a store-bought pickle jar, once all of its pickles have been eaten. (But better yet, here’s a lovely recipe for Refrigerator Pickles with a homemade [...]

  7. Weekly Wish List – Bold and Colourful Nordic feel | Nadia Minkoff News - July 2, 2012

    [...] Refrigerator cucumber and dill pickles [...]

Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

